Felted Hello Kitty Bow Headband Tutorial (and cool felting hack!)

hello kitty bow felted headband

Good afternoon everybody ❤ On this horribly windy Illinois day, I find myself cozy and content with the completion of my new mini project: a giant Hello Kitty bow, yay! I feel particularly accomplished because this was done so by needle felting, a craft I have only tried once and at that time really wasn’t feeling it…but after watching a few Youtube tutorials, I had been convinced enough to give felting another try. Glad I did!

I stopped needle felting after getting discouraged how hard it was to achieve the shapes you wanted. Maqaroon’s Youtube video showed me an easy way to get the exact shape I wanted in her cute felted cookies video. She made the cookie shapes by first carving them out on a black of cleaning material commonly known as “Magic Erasers” (think if Mr. Clean).  With a little practice, I made my first little spongey-felted creation, then I decided to make something larger. Thus, the headband was created! I’m so happy I found this easy way to start felting, so I’m here to pass out the process!

felting headband supplies

Supplies: Red wool roving (Artiste $1.59 Hobby Lobby), felting needle/block, Magic Eraser sponge (generic brand #3), Stanley Metal SnapOff Knife ($0.74 at Menards), scissors, marker/pen, paper, ruler, hot glue gun/super glue, headband.

felting bow 1Step 1: Holding the Magic Eraser, make a dash across the sides that measure 7mm wide. My eraser was 1 inch wide, so I had 3 even layers, and one slightly smaller one. Be sure to use a full layer for the bow tutorial. For best results, make lines all around. CAREFULLY, use the knife to cute the layers. I’ll admit, I destroyed the first sponge I tried this on, takes a very slow, steady hand for best results.

Step 2: On the piece of paper, sketch out a bow, and cut out the template. Make sure you use one of the 7mm pieces of sponge to trace the bow onto. I used a fine tip Sharpie. Again, slowly cut out the bow with the knife.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 3: Start felting. Starting at the center, I wrapped felt all the way around, and the relentless poking begins! Continue to wrap felt around the sides of the bow. You’ll want to make the felt flat and even on both sides.

red felted bow

Step 4: After a layer or so, the sponge should be completely covered. Now lets start adding definition. Decide which will be the front of the bow, then add a big ball and felt it to the middle, making the actual “tie” of the bow look more realistic. I did about five layers before I was satisfied.

hello kitty bow diy

Step 5: With the bow “tie” done, next make the edges pop. Add thin strips to the edges of the bow, I did about three strips on each side. Especially keep poking the inside to make the rounded edges as smooth as possible.

hello kitty bow diy 2

Step 6: When you feel your bow shape is appropriate, give your hand a break from all that poking! Make sure one last time there are no exposed sponge areas on the sides, and then put that needle down, no more poking for you!

Step 7: With your blank headband and glue in hand, carefully secure your bow. I played around a lot on how to position the bow, I think anyway looks cute. And now you’re done, admire your work!Hello Kitty Bow Headband, felted headband

I’m really pleased with this covering-sponge-with-felt thing. Makes felting seem not so scary, and even gave me the confident to try another felting video I found. I made an adorable little felted star found from Flying Mio. The little orange and bear were my two practice sponge-felts. I like the way they feel, they aren’t as stiff as the star I made.

felted star felted food felted bear millieonherworld

Overall, I now have a love of felting 😀 Not so scary anymore, practice makes perfect!
Thanks for visiting, ta ta for now!

❤ Happily felting Millie

Leave a Reply

