Art Trade: Making Little Nila

image

I meant to post this last month, but here we go! Probably the most detailed doll I’ve made so far, meet Nila. She’s my second 6 inch “hand held” doll as I can them. She was done for a girl I met on Deviant Art, she goes by her screen name Mirayue.

Mirayu is a very charming and sweet girl from France who’s art style I loved so much I asked for an art trade. She always had cute designs for her OCs and right away wanted me to do her favorite, Nila who looks like this:

image

I love the way she colors and styles her characters. I REALLY wanted one, so she made me one:

image

My character, Hidama which means “falling star” in Japanese. She’s so adorable and turned out way better than I thought!! I wanted Hidama to come to life for nostalgia’s sake. Reminds me of that time in my life when anime, OCs, and role playing ruled me and my friends lives. Really helped us get thorough tough times with a smile on our faces. Mirayue really incorporated every detail and then and, I was very grateful, and added a few smaller drawings too.

In turn Nila was a pleasure and challenge to make. Specifically her hair and shirt. I used embroidery floss, which was good but underneath that hat it looks super sloppy. The shorts could’ve been sewn neater also. The shirt took forever to shape right but in the end turned out great, I even decorated then with swavorski crystals. An art trade fine well, very proud how things turned out 😀

Ok well I have to get back to work ;_;

Hope everyone has a great Monday!
Millie

2 thoughts on “Art Trade: Making Little Nila

  1. Aw, Nila is super super cute~ It’s fun to see how a character comes to life on paper and in yarn, different mediums but the same levels of adorableness! ❤

Leave a Reply

