Bowl Full of Baby Stars & Pattern

amigurumi baby stars

Yesterday I posted a picture of my new purse, and a lot of people loved the little star charm that was on the zipper. I decided to make a few more and share the pattern 🙂

All for this pattern goes to the blog Mohu, and a link to the original pattern is here. Mohu makes the tiniest cutest colorful cuddly creations and I adore her work. I followed her pattern but decided to take a slightly different approach to the final product. The original pattern is in spirals, but I did joined rounds. A personal preference, but if you want spirals just don’t slip stitch at the end of each round. Let’s get started!

SAM_0453

Needed:

  • Yarn size 4 (ex: Red Heart, Bernate, ect)
  • Any size hook will do, I chose 3 different ones to show size
  • White embroidery thread
  • Black buttons
  • Yarn needle and regular needle
  • Felt
  • Stuffing

Abbreviations:

  • Sc = Single Crochet/Single Stitch
  • St = Stitch
  • Spl St = Slip Stitch
  • Ch = Chain

Pattern:

  1. Magic Ring 5 sc. Slp st and ch 1 (5)
  2. 2sc in each st. Slp st and ch 1 at end of round (10)
  3. 3sc in next st, slp st in next. Repeat 5 times. Slp st and ch 1 at end of round (20)
  4. Sc, 3sc in next st, 3sc in next st, sc, slp st. Repeat 5 times. Slp st and ch 1 at end of round (30)
  5. Skip the next st, 5sc in next st, sc, skip, slp st. Repeat 5 times. Slp st and leave a long tail for the first star half, then cut.

With the 2.5 mm hook two sides should look like this:

SAM_0426

Next I used a bit of black felt, and cut two circles that were slightly smaller than the black buttons. Then with the felt behind the button, sew them on for the little eyes. I do this because it seems to keep the buttons sturdier. Make sure to sew tightly! If you want blush marks, sew them on now or do what I did and just add a little glue. Now sew both star halves together, only stuffing when there is only one star point open. Mohu stuffs them lightly making them very flat, but for some reason I like my baby stars cute n’ chubby, I shoved as much stuffing as I could in them!

And there you have it, a baby star is born. I keep using them as keychains, phone charms, decoration, they are so simple but add a colorful aspect to anything. The one on my phone I actually named “Baby Star” and will refer to him as a living thing haha…they don’t take too long to make. Enjoy~

With Baby Star watching The Lego Movie,
❤ Millie

 

5 thoughts on “Bowl Full of Baby Stars & Pattern

  1. Hi. I pinned these cute stars a while ago, not for anything specific, just as something to keep in mind. I’m between projects right now, I need specific yarn and can’t get to a yarn shop before the weekend. I had a look on my ideas board and saw these cuties.

    I realy did try to make them work from your pattern but after the third attempt I skimmed through the blog again. I saw the link for the original pattern and went there to see if there were any clues for what I was doing wrong. There are a couple of differences between the patterns, in the stitch counts. I haven’t tried the other pattern yet, the differences may be deliberate on your part, maybe you prefer it your way. I’m just pointing it out in case it was a mistake.

Leave a Reply

