My Newest Little (Crochet) Girl

Crochet Mia by Millieonherworld

 

As usual, I have taken forever and a day and then a few more hours to update my blog. Better late than never right…yea…maybe? Okay crafty talk now~

This is Mia 😀
Finally I’ve acquired the courage to make a doll out of crochet thread, and integrate felting into my crochet projects.

 

crochet doll hair on mia by millieonherworld

 

Mia’s hair was all needle felted onto her head, and sticks extremely well, you couldn’t pull it off if you tried. She’s got two braided buns. She’s 10 inches tall, has a crochet removable dress and head band, and yup, I’m thrilled! I’ve already started on her sister, Nia:

crochet thread doll by millie on her world

Well, Nia still needs a few things, a body, an arm, maybe a pair of legs…but Mia watches over her.

While I adore everything about Mia’s outcome, the biggest thorn in my side is her dress. That simple white and purple dress took COUNTLESS times to make, Originally I wanted a fabric dress- that failure led me to a felt dress – then to a crochet tread dress – finally to this normal size 4  yarn outfit. Not the worst, but….I feel I can do better before I place her in my shop.

I’ve been looking for a doll dress maker, I really want Mia to shine! My goal is to have her as a doll little girls can play with and have different accessories/outfits for her to enjoy. I even tried Barbie doll dresses on Mia but they are too big. If yourself or you know someone who can make a doll dress for a 10 in doll, let me know, I will even do an official business deal with them, anything to make Mia a star! 😀

Lately Mia has been my most recent completed projects. As usual, I’ve got too many going on. Making a surprise gift for my sister (she reads my blog so I can’t even tell what it is here!), scarfs, hooded poncho, various doll prototypes, headbands, there are things everywhere!

Since my last post I’ve also got my hands on a new quirky camera

fisheye 2 camera yay

The Fisheye 2! This is my first film camera and as the name suggests, all the pictures have the awesome fisheye distortion. Pictures also come out in little circles! The controls are extremely simple, but surprisingly you are able to do a lot of abstract effects to your photos. Have I taken advantage of this? No -_- I’m so cautious with this camera and afraid to “mess up a shot” that I haven’t used it much. And due to me taking it out the box before reading the instructions, the first few pictures on this roll are just of the inside of my purse. My first roll also consists of my friend’s leg, a cat in a dryer, my foot, and my boyfriend’s selfie. I’ll share the decent ones if they aren’t too ridiculous 😛

Life the past few months, what to sayyyyy…

-For a month I worked two jobs. Had a horrible experience with awful management, then I quit. On the plus side, I may have a great opportunity opening up that involve my crochet toys! Wish me luck, lots of shiny sparkly LUCK!

– I have lost 2 people: My Aunt Angela “Ankie” passed away in her sleep last month. She had been struggling with diabetes for the past few years. It was very unreal to hear of her passing, especially since I’d seen her a few weeks before. I felt an overwhelming sense of guilt for taking for granted the time you have with loved ones. When I last saw her, I went to take a picture of her but my camera died. I then told her “I’ll get you next time.” We never know when the last time we see someone will be, and sometimes I forget that. She was my uncle’s ex wife, but she continued to always be around, and would still even enjoy a drink with my uncle from time to time. Due to miscommunications, I wasn’t able to attend her funeral. I regret that also.

-A week later a “friend” passed away due to skin cancer. I say “friend” because he was more than an acquaintance, but I wasn’t as close to him as his other friends.  His name was William “Billy” Coney. He was my best friend’s friend, they grew up together, and I’ve known him as long as I’ve known her (11 yrs). Whenever he was around my friend’s house, we always had laughs, me and him even had some inside jokes that ran through the years. He was only 22. And going to his wake had to be one of the hardest things I’ve done this year. It took me all night to finally go to the casket to see him lying there. With the combination of his passing and my aunts, that whole week I was in a slump, trying to not allow myself to properly morn but eventually one day at work I had a mini break down. This month I’m doing better, trying to remember to tell those I love that I do love them.

– Happier note, I once again will be seeing my parents in Nevada! Since I actually work now I can only see them for a few days, but I am so excited. Just thinking that I will be able to hug my mom again is comforting. Or the fact that I still will crawl in her lap for a super idc-if-I’m-23-I’ll-still-hug-you-with-all-my-might hug. The sight always cracks my stepdad up. Last month my sister and I sent her a cute package that included  the crochet hats I made her and this gorgeous purple purse my sister finally gave up (my mom had wanted it for years!)

– Hair cut! Four inches gone 🙂

millie mouse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Man I’ve got to stop mixing crafty creative happy posts with my emotional rant posts lol. But then again I don’t blog for anything specific really, guess its just everything me 😛

How have the few months been for all you out there? I know I’m not the only person from the midwest who almost shed a tear seeing snow Tuesday morning, how depressing was that?! This year has certainly been weird, but at this point we might as well just roll with it 🙂 Hope everyone is healthy and happy and doing the best they can in life.

I should be heading to bed, but I think I’m going to finish Forest Gump. My first time watching it as an adult and omg, even more depressing than previous thought!

Just keep swimming,
❤ Millie

9 thoughts on “My Newest Little (Crochet) Girl

  1. I’m sorry to hear of your aunt and friend’s passing. It’s too easy sometimes to take the time loved ones are here for granted. . . . I’m glad to hear that this month is a little better, hopefully it will continue in that direction.

    Mia and Nia are so cute! Though it looks like Nia is patiently waiting for her body. 🙂 I love the look of the felted hair and crochet clothes, and the idea of a wardrobe.
    What issues were you having with the fabric dress? I’m not a sewing expert (yet), but if it’s any of the issues I’ve had before I’d be happy to share some tips. >.<

    Ohh, and good luck good luck with the opportunity! *throws sparkly fairy dust and shiny happy thoughts* I'll keep my fingers crossed that it works out for you!!

    • Thank you 🙂 I think I also started feeling better the more I talked about losing those loved ones, and I’ve gotten some great support.

      As for Mia and Nia’s wardrobe, I had trouble with everything! I couldn’t properly measure a pattern so dressed would be too big or small, I’m horrible with trying to sew with such small pieces of fabric, tried hand sewing they looked sloppy, tried the machine it was hard to make straight lines….lol! The list goes on -_-

      • Ah, the joys of miniature sewing. I had the worst time when I started sewing for dolls, my seams would go everywhere. . . ! At least with people-sized clothes there’s a little forgiveness if you go off the seam a bit, but with mini garments the whole fit can be off. What helps me to sew straight lines is to mark the fabric where the seam was supposed to go, either with fabric pencils or with a line of pins. There isn’t much that helps with the size, though. >.<

        If I recall, you made fabric dresses for some of your smaller crochet dolls before. Bunny and Bonnie, right? That sort of simple hand-pleated rectangle skirt would look very cute on Mia and Nia too, I think.

        Oh, and I totally forgot to mention this in my last comment–please please please don't stop mixing crafty posts with personal posts! I enjoy reading everything at once!

  2. I’m sorry for your recent losses, but I’m glad you’re feeling better now. I hope your month keeps getting better 🙂

    Mia and Nia are adorable, seriously! I really like the look of the felted hair, it’s a nice-looking change from your usual yarn strands. Though your dolls do seem to pull off the yarn-hair look very well. Their hairstyles are pretty much the cutest things I’ve seen, too! Love that you chose bright colors for them. (I’m a sucker for bright hair colors)

    As to Mia’s dress: I’d probably be able to figure out a pattern that would look similar to the crochet dress she has on right now. Thing is, I pretty much improv a lot of the stuff I do, so I wouldn’t be able to tell you how to make a dress for her work properly. I think her current dress looks really nice on her at the moment, though! But yes, I do agree that she needs a little something extra. Do you think maybe a bit of colorful ribbon acting as a bracelet might work? (I have this image in my head of Mia with a little cloak and wicker basket :3)
    On accessories for your dolls: Have you heard of needle tatting? It’s an easy way to create little things made of lace that you’d probably be able to embellish outfits and other things with. I wrote a post on it here (https://themeepingkoala.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/oh-look-progress/) and there are a lot of other resources online, if you’re interested in taking a look.

    • This month has been much better, thank you 🙂
      OOh a bracelet for Mia and Nia would look lovely. And if you think you could figure out a pattern, I’d be grateful. Id even be willing to send you a doll as a model or something. >.< Like I said, I cant sew small things for squat.
      I have never hears of needle tatting, but that is the coolest and elegant thing I've seen! I like the colors you chose for yours, turned out so pretty. Is it a fairly new thing? I will certainly give it a try and test my luck, thanks for sharing with me 😀
      Hope you had a good Easter too~

  3. Sorry to hear of the loss of people close to you, life serves us all sad things to deal with. I adore your crochet girl she is beautiful. For easter I sat around with my mother, my sister and our ten year old daughters. The girls learned chaining and my sister took myself and my mother through the steps of making our first amigurumi animal, we both chose a penguin. Needless to say girl time was wonderful and now I am hooked. I hope you have a better month and some good times with your family.

    • Your Easter sounded wonderful! I bet it made your mother really happy, and your girls enjoyed it as well. Were you able to post pictures of your little penguin? 🙂 Looks like your old habit is revived!
      Thank you for your condolences, this month has been better. Once in a while I’ll get a little down, but like you said, life keeps throwing things at us and we must learn to endure. I hope you keep having a great time with crochet and spending time with your family as well.

  4. Pingback: Side Projects :) | millieonherworld

Leave a Reply

