Stormy Sweater: DIY Tutorial

diy_sweater_upcycle_by_millieonherworld

Lately I’ve been getting back into thrift/resale/bargain shopping. Not only do I get to save money and get great clothes, I don’t have to spend an arm and a leg on a sweater that I just want to use for a tutorial anyway. I saw this plain sequent-sleeve sweater and wanted to add my own spin. Heavily inspired by tutorials I’ve seen from Hapy Shoppe Friend’s blog, I wanted to try my own!

Trying to stray away from my cupcake themed obsession, I decided to take note of other objects that I have a fascination with- not sure why or how these came about but I love clouds, umbrellas, and little rain showers. I love clothing with umbrellas, and I think summer rain showers are so soothing. This tutorial took no time at all, and I think is super kawaii~

Materials: Plain sweater,  any colored felt or fabric, embroidery floss/thread, needle, scissors, hot glue gun (optional) and the Sweater_Template.

Step 1. After printing the Sweater Template, cut out all the pieces (easy peasy right?) Cut out as many hearts as you’d like (I did 8). The blush marks are optional and not on the template so if you want them don’t forget.
IMG_20140121_154736_073

Step 2. Set the scene! Position the cloud, umbrella, and hearts. (I originally wanted the umbrella to be slanted and the cloud off center, but my sweater was too small…)
IMG_20140121_154559_952

Step 3. Let’s start on the faces. There are two ways to go about this. First is to obviously sew the eyes and smile on the cloud and umbrella, with matching thread/embroidery floss. A felt stitch would look best. The second (quicker) option is to use a hot glue gun. The only downside to using hot glue is when you wash your sweater, do it by hand or wash on cold. DO NOT wash it in hot, or your faces will be lost in the wash! When their faces are on, pin them to the sweater.
IMG_20140121_162158_847

Step 4. Felt stitch (or hot glue) all the pieces together to make your rain storm come to life. When doing the umbrella, make sure to sew the handle under the umbrella top. What do you know, you’re already done!

milliemouse stormy sweater

I feel proud even though the process was fairly simple. Also I managed not to make something cupcake related again!!-not that I won’t ever return to those sweet desserts but a break is nice 🙂 I must say, it feels SO GOOD to be crafting again lately! Over the past week I’ve had my notebook full of sketches, project notes, poem blurbs, oh how wonderful to be creatively alive 😀 *hurrah*

I’ve finished this sweater yesterday and I’m already rummaging through my clothes for the next project 🙂
I’ve been looking for a new job lately, which means filling out boring applications and going store to store which really stresses me out, but crafting everyday tends to lift my spirits. 😀

I’ve really taken a liking in upcycling sweater/clothing projects lately, does anyone else feel the same? Any suggested blogs or websites I should check out? I’d love some input. Other than that, thanks for stopping by~ I hope 2014 has been treating everyone well.

Onto the next project!
❤ Millie

2 thoughts on “Stormy Sweater: DIY Tutorial

Leave a Reply

