Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

Giving myself a new style

Giving myself a new style

This is the story of the girl who loved her curls but wanted to try something new. This one girl had the mentality that “If they can do it, then I can!” And with a pair of scissors, she decided to cut herself some bangs.

The last few months I’ve wanted bangs, and started looking for a salon that would do the job. In the past I’ve had bad experiences at salons (brushes stuck in my hair, burnt with flat irons, products damaging my hair) ect), making me very picky and even scared to let them touch my hair. After hearing outrageous prices (you wouldn’t believe how much they charge for curly hair!) and salons that didn’t even have anyone who could do curly hair, I got frustrated. Yesterday morning I got a pair of scissors and had at it.

Afterward, I couldn’t decide if I liked them, or hated them, or if I looked like a clown. I called a salon my mom recommended and they said they’d give them a fix for only $10. ย Walking in and explaining the situation, they looked at me like I was crazy. They sat me down, snipped their scissors 3 times and started laughing at me! They said they were fine, and they weren’t even going to charge me. Feeling insanely embarrassed, I dashed out the shop!

I know they aren’t anywhere near perfect, but I only trust myself with my hair and practice will make me a pro eventually, right? Right!

This weekend my projects are a pink hat for my mom and cupcake mittens for my cupcake hat. Also looking forward to seeing Chris and watching that movie Gravity with Sandra Bullock, heard it was really great!

-Millie

8 thoughts on “Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

  1. Your bangs look good, and you look good with bangs. You keep practicing on cutting your bangs and you will be better than the pros ๐Ÿ˜€ Besides, the hair will grow back from a wonky cut that can be plastered down with plenty of hair products. Trust me, I know what I’m talking about ๐Ÿ˜€

    Leslie

  2. I think your fringe (sorry, that’s what we call it!!!) looks stunning, and suits your face completely. I often snip away at my own hair. And you know what, if you didn’t like it, you can grow it out – if you don’t try, you’ll never know ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You look good! I understand how hard is to find a good hairdresser, my sister and I have been cutting our hair for years now; I had made mistakes but it doesn’t bother me if it was my own doing. Even the “pros” make mistakes but of course they will not admit it.

  4. You look cute!
    Do you still keep in contact with Liz Whiteacre from COD? I really enjoyed that class (Writing for Publication). I started a blog because of it (Simplify2x) and then another one when I broadened by topic (www.claretwalker.com) I just posted a thing about NaNoWriMo — I’ll be working on a new novel this month!! Woo hoo! It’s the same genre as my first one: a veterinary medical thriller. Maybe you could crochet a veterinarian… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

