I Return—with Cupcakes ofcourse! (Short tutorial included)

With a cupcake here and a cupcake there~

With a cupcake here and a cupcake there~

Because what would Millie be without cupcakes? Sugarless and sad, that’s what!
I apologize for my hiatus, just had to adjust to my new working lifestyle. But I’ll get to that in a few– I want to share sweet new addition to my wardrobe, a cupcake hat!

Topped with sprinkles and a cherry

Topped with sprinkles and a cherry

I told myself this cupcakeness had to stop, but I really wanted a new hat and I just got this Hello Kitty Cupcake Maker so my exposure to the mini sweet cakes has them on my brain. I particularly liked this hat because of the swirl pattern, looks just like frosting in my eyes. I added little white glass beads and a cherry to top it off. Someone, make one and have matching hats with me!

The pattern, super easy and brilliant was made by Sarah Beth, and she has a Youtube tutorial that takes you step by step right here: To the Video! The video is pretty long (like 40 min), here’s a short run down if you don’t want to keep skipping though.

  1. 5.00 mm hook, Color 1 for the cake, and Color 2 for the frosting.
  2. Start the Cake:
    Measure your melon! You need to know how long to make the cake band.
    Using Color 1, Chain 11 and turn.
    Row 1: Sc 12. Ch and turn.
    Row 2: Back Loop 12. Ch and turn.
    Alternate between Row 1 and Row 2 until the band is long enough to comfortably go around your head. Leave a tail.
  3. Frosting:
    Grab Color 2 and Ch 26.
    Row 1: Starting in the 3rd st from the hook, do 2 Half Double Crochets in the same st. Do single HDC in the next 21 st. HDC 2tog (decrease) the last two st.
    Row 2: HDC 2tog, then sc 21 st, do 2 HDC in the last st.
    Alternate between Row 1 and Row until this band is as long as the cake band made before. Leave a LONG tail.
  4. Cherry:
    Magic Ring 6.
    Sc, 2sc in next st.
    Sc 2, 2sc in next st.
    Sc around.
    Sc 2, 2tog.
    Sc 1, 2tog.
    2tog closed.
  5. Assembly: Sew the Frosting to the Cake with the tail left from the frosting band. Next, sew both sides together so it looks like a normal hat. Sew the top of the hat closed, its hard to describe how she did it in the tutorial, but at 34:10 in the video she does a good job. Top off the hat with the cherry and sprinkles. And viola- ze hat iz fresh out zee oven!

This tutorial is so easy, and with the video she literally goes step by step so it is impossible to get confused. I thank her a lot, I love the way it looks! The first night I wore it, I already got a compliment. I even wear it to work and have parents complimenting me (mainly because they want one for their little girls, but still makes me happy).

Oh yea, I’m a working gal now! I work at a sports center in a small town I used to live in. Its only part time, but this job is practically a work out!! My whole shifts I’m on my feet non-stop, there aren’t even chairs for us to sit it because there is always something to do. The biggest downside though is it is a 40 min drive. While I still hope to find a less hectic full time job, for now I am content with having a job and a steady paycheck. Feels great to finally be part of the workforce.

As for Etsy, unfortunately I have been showing Millie’s Crochet House a little less attention due to my new schedule. But I did manage to complete my goal of making a bunch of patterns from scratch. I have 15 play food patterns <-(picture in my last post)! They are divided by fruits, veggies, and desserts. I plan to make a few more that are meals like breakfast, lunch, snack, ect. I like/dislike the challenge of pattern making, so even if they don’t sell I’m pretty proud of myself!

Life has its normal ups and downs and stresses, but I keep believing things will work out and I’ll somehow pull through. I can’t believe this time last year I didn’t know how to drive, was jobless, and fully dependent on my parents. I’ve done a complete 180 and accomplished all those things. Not to mention it helps to have a boyfriend who is actually supportive and treats me well 🙂

muah<3

He hates pictures but somehow I keep getting him to take some ;D

My goal is for there to be more crafting once again! Or atleast more blogging, I miss it here and I have a ton of other blogs to catch up on! >.<  Halloween is this month! I am really excited to experience two things for the first time: carve a pumpkin and go in a corn maze!! Simple things that the majority of the population has done since childhood, but I missed those traditions and like I really want to do them. Anyone dressing up? You’re never to old in my book. 🙂 Hope everyone has a great week! I’m off to play my 3ds, lucky me is playing 4 games at once @_@

Thanks for still checking in even though I was M.I.A!
❤ Millie

6 thoughts on “I Return—with Cupcakes ofcourse! (Short tutorial included)

  1. The hat’s super adorable! Just proves that that there’s never too much cupcakeness. 😀 I think it’d be super cute to have a cupcake dress-and-hat set, but the thought of crocheting so much for the dress is daunting. . . .

    Ah, and welcome back! Amazing how life just decides to happen sometimes. Sounds like you’re having fun, though, and that’s the most important thing. ^^

  2. What a cute hat! You do fantastic work with your needles and yarn. Good luck with your job. Hopefully, things will begin to settle down in your life and you can return to doing what you love to do as a release from the tensions of a crazy life 😀
    Leslie

  3. Pingback: October MADE IT challenge – Another dose of magical entries | woolhogs

Leave a Reply

