Sweater Weather: DIY Felted Heart Elbow Patches

<3

โค

Wanna revamp and old sweater you never wear? Why not add some adorable felted elbow patches to them?
YOU SHOULD! Can I say that these are so adorable and make me excited to wear this sweater that I haven’t worn since I got it about two years ago? I adore how this turned out!

But stop right there, all the credit goes the the creative Koko of Lollipops and Rainbows. In my last post she shared a link to an amazingly simple tutorial from the blog Honestly…WTF . Visit her fancy blog to see the full tutorial, for now I’m going to show you some quick pics of what I did! Sorry for the bad camera quality, that is really my only complaint about my iPod.

Supplies: Pretty colored wool, simple sweater, felting block, felting needles, iron, heart cookie cutter, tape
Time: ~30 minutes if you are easily distracted like me

1. Put on your sweater, bend your elbow and put tape so the cookie cutter covers the appropriete area

(try eating a lollipop during this step!)

(try eating a lollipop during this step!)

2. Put the foam block in the sweater sleeve. Set up your cookie cutter and fill it with layers of wool

felting sleeve 1

3. Start with the edges and keep mercilessly poking those wool fibers!

Think you're done? KEEP POKING!

Think you’re done? KEEP POKING!

4. After you are confident that the wool is secure, carefully peel it off the foam block.

done felting heart 1

Should be smoothed out like this

Inside should look like this

Inside should look somethin’ like this

5. Time to bring out the iron. Put the setting to “wool” and make sure it is full of water. Iron directly on the wool patch, ocassionally spraying and using steam.

6. Admire your new sweater!

Ta-Da!

(try not to have crooked pigtails)

There you have it, cute n’ colorful heartful flare to your sweater. I have a whole tub cookie cutters and have the urge to felt more shapes on more sweaters, a win-win situation for me! I get to indulge myself in felting and my reward are “new” outfits. Eeek I’m so excited to wear this to school tomorrow, I don’t even know why ๐Ÿ˜€

That’s all for now! I should really study for my test but I’m sleepy >.> do it in the morning.

Quick shout-out to my photographer, my awesome boyfriend

My love~!

My love~!

He actually only took the last picture of me but I’m in a giddy mood today, thought I’d share with you all my crafting mastermind who aids me in my adventures. He’s so great, and amazing, and I’m sure he’ll just love this praise I’m giving him (he follows my blog).

Enough for now, its almost midnight. Good night!

*Quiet please, Millie going to sleep*

8 thoughts on “Sweater Weather: DIY Felted Heart Elbow Patches

  1. It seems like I’m inspired every time I read your blog. Now I’m imagining cute fuzzy patches on old jeans. . . dresses. . . scarves. . . and sweaters, obviously. ๐Ÿ˜€

    So adorable, I bet you’ll get a lot of compliments when you wear it!

  2. Aww! Such a great idea! It makes your sweater cuter! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I bet he is loving the praise! He sounds like a great boyfriend! Definitely a keeper ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

