Minis: Lola and Lulu

Lola and Lulu  in tutus

Lola and Lulu in tutus

Happy Holidays and New Years Eve!
I managed to complete one final project before the end of 2012. Lola and Lulu are my prototypes for new doll pattern.

Lola twirling around~

Lola twirling around~

Lulu posing for the camera

These two were a blast to make. I especially love that they are both only 5 inches tall, they fit so snug in my hand! New techniques and details kept me entertained but led me the results I desired.

Their hair was fun, making it attached and unattached to their heads. I’m not 100% sure I would always use this technique, but it does cut down time and use of colored yarn (or at least I think so). Months ago I said I wanted to use fabric to make dresses, and I attempted to do so with them. Waaaay more complicated than first imagined, but satisfactory enough for me. How do people make tiny doll clothing? I got frustrated making a sloppy little dress! Of course I forgot something that always messes my patterns up: different yarn brands. Lola’s Red Heart design came out perfect as I used it to create the pattern. After switching to Vanna’s Choice for Lulu, her head turned out about an inch too small, she looked like an alien! After modifications I ended up with two patterns to get the same sized doll.

I’m debating on modifying these two or creating a new-new doll pattern. Pros: they are small, fun hair styles, easy pattern, quick to make, simplistic. Cons: easy pattern, fabric clothing, super simplistic. I like them, but I want a challenge, but not too challenging like the whole Linguine Doll experience! With the fast paced pattern I may easily put a few more together and putt them in my shop, see if any one fancies their small demeanor like me ๐Ÿ™‚ Making new patterns will have to be pushed back again, but this gives me a chance to look around and research, woohoo!

How were your holidays? Christmas Eve at my bf’s house was pretty interesting, I was shocked when his grandma and mom had little gifts for me, I didn’t expect any of that and actually felt kind of embarrassed! Embarrassed as I was trying to discretely open my gifts, I was very thankful, that was so thoughtful of them since I entered their lives such a short while ago. I couldn’t have asked for a better Christmas Eve than spending time with my bf, a great day. Not to mention the pretty key necklace he got me, I have always adored key necklaces!

Yesterday we went to a Brazilian Steakhouse in down town Chicago that had food to DIE FOR! The service was spectacular, the food out of this world, so fantastical phenomenal make you want to have a foodgasm that now everything else I eat seems to be extremely lacking. Yet every bite of that delicious food was worth it! So next is New Years Eve, which is practically here. Instead of outrageous parties and drinks all around, I plan on being cozy at home, catch up on a few anime shows and dress like a bum all day, sounds like a good night to me.

Hope you all had wonderful a Christmas day, and bring in 2013 with a bang! ๐Ÿ˜€
2012 has been a roller coaster, full of ups and downs, laughs and tears. What can 2013 possibly throw my way? I’m not sure, I’m okay with whatever comes. This blog has been a fun experience, wonder what new things I’ll have to share.

2012 Millie, signing off.

You’ll hear from me next year- hahaha! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Minis: Lola and Lulu

  1. Happy New Year, Millie!!!
    I love the dolls, they’re very cute, and the doll with the curly hair is my favorite! You did a great job on the dresses too!

    I hope you have a wonderful 2013!

    ~Denae

Leave a Reply

