“Yay.”

” I’m….I’m Fluttershy…..”

Success, one My Little Pony costume, complete! Last night for my friend’s costume party/garage band show I flaunted my new outfit of my favorite pony of all time: the timid and heartfelt Fluttershy.

I’m proud of myself, my costume didn’t break my wallet and required very little time to complete:

 

-XXXL Sweater : $4.50. Found at my local resale shop. In 1 hour I managed to cut the sweater and resew it to make a slender sweater dress. This is the first time I ever tried to upcycle a piece of clothing. I managed to do it, but I wish I didn’t have to rush. The right sleeve is sewed lower than the left, while the left sleeve is longer than the right. If I had to do it again, I wouldn’t have rushed and taken the time to correctly do measurements. Overall, I’m happy the things stayed together, I was worried it would fall apart at the slightest movement.
-Sheets of  Baby Pink / Ocean Blue Felt: $0.85 thanks to Jo Ann Fabrics.
-Pair of Pink Tights: $5.00. Thank you Super Target for your rainbow colored tights!
-Pink Wig: $7.00 at another resale shop. The price made me smile, yet the downside of a used wig is how poofy and tangled the wig was. I spent a good 15 minutes trying to comb it! If I was going to dress up more, I probably would’ve gotten a brand new wig.
-The sloppy ear headband was made from extra fabric from the sweater. I quickly sewed them together and during the car ride I crocheted the headband. By the time we arrived at the party, I had my fake eyelashes and gold eyeshadow on.

Total: $17.35
Being able to dress as a pink and yellow pony: Priceless.

The only prop I’m missing are her pegasus wings. I did buy some yellow butterfly wings, but they were so humongous I ended up looking like a butterfly instead of Fluttershy (haha). I had a great time at the party, even if I kept dancing to fight off the 42 degree chill. The best part had to be meeting my friend who I hadn’t seen since I was 15. A great mini reunion for me, my friend in the band, and the long lost friend we hadn’t seen since high school was great, things felt so nostalgic. We laughed and talked and exchanged numbers. We plan on hanging out this weekend, funny how people change yet somehow manage to stay the same.

I’ve had many sleepless days this week, I’m checking in early.
Night night ❤

2 thoughts on ““Yay.”

Leave a Reply

