Beautifully Blue: DIY Cozy Crochet Fingerless Gloves

My latest addition to my small crochet clothing collection: fingerless gloves!
I feel so lovely wearing these, they are soft, super warm, and might I say super stylish?
Fingerless gloves are always in style, and now I can make them in any color I please, and so they fit my hands perfectly.
I am crochet master!…(not really).

I 100% do NOT create the pattern for these beauties. I did however add a small modification. The wonderful tutorial was found from My Favorite Things‘s blog, the link to the pattern is here and try taking a peak at her other patterns, they are all equally amazing.  Her tutorial took me a few tries but I noticed a major problem was that she used thin wool yarn, and I have none. I was working with a thicker acrylic yarn and didn’t like the way things were turning out. I made a slight modification starting at the second round.

Here’s the basics of what I did:

Need: 4.50 mm hook, acrylic yarn (I used Caron’s Simply Soft), lace or ribbon

Rnd 1:

Chain so the sequence is long enough to comfortably fit around your hand. The pattern calls for 30, but it was too big for me so I had to do less. For this way, make sure it is an even number. When you are done chaining, slip stitch into the first stitch to create a circle.

Rnd 2-6:

Chain 2, followed by a half double crochet into the same stitch. This is where I change things a bit. Chain 1, skip 1, then do a half double crochet in the next stitch. At the end of the round, do a slip stitch into the first sc. Be sure to count the number of “circles” or gaps between the half double crochets. Each following round should have the same number of gaps so there are no increases and your gloves starts getting wider and wider. For Rnd 3, start again by Chain 2, half double crochet, chain 1, skip 1, now half double crochet through the holes as pictured above. Continues until there are 6 even rounds.

Rnd 7:

Things are coming along now! This round introduces room for our little thumbs to poke through. Keep up the half double crochet, chain, skip pattern until you reach your thumb. When you do, chain 5-7 times or however it takes so the loop will fit comfortably around your thumb. After chaining, be sure to skip the exact same amount of stitches, then continue the hdc, ch, sk pattern. While chaining for your thumb loop, pay extra attention to the number and the equivalent amount of “circles” that were skipped. At the end of the round, make sure you still have the same amount of circles. (Okay this sounds a little confusing). Example: My total number of circles (aka gaps between my half double crochets) was 14. I chained 5 for  my thumb. 5 chains and 5 skips was equal to 3 hdc and 2 chs, or three circles. I included those three circles at the end of the round so my total was still 14 circles total.  End the round with a slip stitch.

Rnd 8- +16:

Keep up the same pattern, making sure to keep counting and ending each round with a slip stitch. I did 16, but ofcourse you can make the gloves as long as you wish!

Finishing Rnd:

For the end of the glove, I followed her pattern to get the semi frilly look. All working in SAME sc: yarn over, insert hook through stitch, yarn over, pull through, yarn over, pull through 2 loops. Yarn over, insert hook in stitch, yarn over, pull through all 4 loops. As usual, end this round with a slip stitch. To finish, weave lace into the second to last row, tie it into a bow. That’s all!

I haven’t taken my gloves off since I made them. I should really preserve them for special occasions or even when I leave the house, but I can’t help myself! I hope everyone else tries to make a pair ^-^ This was great practice, I’ll probably make more eventually, after I finish all the other projects I’ve got lined up.

Enjoy the pattern, I’m done for the night 🙂

❤ Bye bye!

P.S. Woohoo 131 followers! I’m thinking about having another give away soon, be on the look out 🙂

CcdHChahttp://myfavouritethingsblog95.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/confessions-of-crocheter.html

9 thoughts on “Beautifully Blue: DIY Cozy Crochet Fingerless Gloves

  1. Pingback: Feast you eyes on some more Made It’s | woolhogs

Leave a Reply

