Taking on the Crocodile

 

 

Q: What led me to step outside my amigurumi frenzy and attempt the crocodile stitch?
A: My mom

Yesterday I was on Etsy looking for some beautiful handmade Christmas gifts- for myself that is. I stumbled across a pair of  STUNNING fingerless gloves with crocodile stitches on the ends and a beautiful black to deep blue ombre effect. As usual, my mom pokes her head in my laptop screen and ruins my longing:

Mom: “You’re not buying those are you?”
Me: Shifty eyes slowly frowning at mother, “Maybe…”
“Why, you can MAKE those!”
Whiney voice, “But mooooooom, they are so pretty and that stitch is hard.”
Waves hand in my face, “Stop being silly, you can learn that if you practice.”
Considering challenge, “Say I buy these and then make my own?”
“No. Go practice.”
Rolling eyes, “Fine….”

The results:

 


 

This is my first attempt, I’m pleased but also irritated. During some part of my crochet stitches, I turn my hook the wrong way and the stitches are facing backwards. Some are too loose, some are too tight, but I am determined to get this right, I really love this stitch. The only downside is the tremendous amount of yarn this stitch uses! If I used this to create those beautiful lovely astonishing crocodile stitch fingerless gloves I have been dreaming of  – literally, I dreamed I was wearing a pair last night(a little weird? yes) – I would have to devote my whole bundle. While that doesn’t seem like a big deal to most, it is to me. Making amigurumi toys and dolls always leaves me with plenty of yarn to spare, when one project takes up a whole bundle I start feeling stingy (lol).

I practiced for a good 2 hours, taking a while to comprehend how to start the stitches themselves. I used a lot of different resources, discovering that YouTube held the key to my success. Here are the videos that really helped me get going:

Crochet Geek – How to Make the Crocodile Scale Stitch
How to Crochet *Crocodile Stitch* Scales Stitch
Crocodile Stitch – How to Crochet

I’m happy that this stitch isn’t as unattainable as previous thoughts. I’m going to practice tomorrow, tonight I am doing some sewinnng~~ ❤  I’m working on the lining for my Gameboy Pouch and BAM, I use the machine and get it to work perfectly! Since then my sewing has been much more enjoyable. How happy I am!

Lately when I’m not crocheting or doing school, I have my eyes glued to the computer screen playing some good old fashioned online games. Specifically the ever popular (and slightly overrated) World of Warcraft game. I used to be a WoW addict when I was 17. Last week my friend reintroduced me to the world, all the new changes and characters, maps, quests, soooo much to do! >.> I regret my addiction awakening, I hope it does not consume me again, but oh so tempting…in the meantime, I’ll stop playing now to watch the new episode of Prank My Mom, a Lifetime show that I vow to put my mom on someday!

❤ Ta ta for now from Millie

8 thoughts on “Taking on the Crocodile

  1. It looks really good, I wouldn’t dare to even try to make something like this. For the past few days I have been fighting to make a bloody hat and sad to say it beat me, I think I am going to stick to making dolls. Good luck, I can’t wait to see the finished product.

    • I applaud you for trying to make a hat 🙂
      I didn’t realize how different making crochet toys and crochet accessories were, a whole different world. Thanks for the luck, I’m going to need it with this stitch!

  2. I love some of the pieces that have been made with this stitch. I haven’t the fainted clue how to crochet, but I love crocheted things, and have become rather fond of this style. Excited to see what else you can make with it!

Leave a Reply

