Share your Craft: DIY Business Cards

Project: Handmade Business Cards
Supplies: Parchment paper, ribbon, thread, yarn, size D crochet hook, thick paper, stamps, ink pad, hole puncher, box cutter, ruler
Results: Sense of accomplishment!

Being a maker of homemade items, I couldn’t settle for having a fancy-shmancy professional business card. Actually, I was getting so OCD about creating the perfect business card on the computer that I called it quits. Instead I started researching handmade cards and viola! I created these colorful cards and envelopes from simple (and affordable) household items:

Searching for inspiration, I found Pugly Pixel’s homemade business cards that were made from glassine envelopes filled with colorful confetti.  How adorable they were! From there I brainstormed and doodled until I found a design I like, then I was off and nothing could stop me!

Step 1: Tracing, Cutting, Folding

I started by making a few 3.5 x 2 inch cards on thick paper. Next I used this basic pattern and measurements for the envelope. Trace it onto the parchment paper and cut away. Fold the flaps so there is a comfortable fit around the card.

2. Hole Punch!

–in the bottom right corner. Make sure it’s not too high or too low.

3. Ribbon Slits

With the box cutter carefully create two small slits on each side. Pull the ribbon through so on the front side you can make a bow.

4. Time to Sew

This is the part I dread the most! I had to resort to sewing the two ends together since I finally realized that “Hmm, glue doesn’t stick to parchment paper….” Starting from the bottom flap of the envelope, start sewing being very careful that the needle doesn’t break through the front of the card. (I think I used a “back sticth” ? I’m bad with sewing terms…)

5. Handful of Hearts

Now that THAT’S over, time for some crochet! I chose hearts because they were easy, small, and so cute! I found an easy pattern from Little Birdie Secrets:

All stitches worked into the first chain.
Ch 4. Work 3 tr (triple crochet) into first ch, 3 dc, ch 1, 1 tr, ch 1, 3 dc, 3 tr. Ch 3, sl st into center and fasten off.

With thread, attach the heats through the hold on the envelope.

6. Decorate Your Cards

As little or as much as you like! I decided to use these tiny letter stamps for the front  and permanent markers to write my information on the back. And now you’re done!

I only have 10 finished, but I’m satisfied they are exactly how I want them to be. Few last tips:

1. These can be time consuming. I tend to do  max 10-15 at a time then take a break. Pace yourself, and if you can get some worker bees!
2. If you use stamps, make sure the ink is fully dry before you mess with them, unlike me.
3.  Measure your parchment paper before you randomly cut a piece to trace on, this will save you paper and time.
4. For more inspiration on handmade cards, check out this colorful and unique list: 13 Creative Business Cards

I’d love to see if anyone makes or already has made their own cards. 🙂
Other than that, TTFN, Ta Ta for Now!

5 thoughts on “Share your Craft: DIY Business Cards

Leave a Reply

