Tea Time: DIY Paper Mache Cups

Cupcake, anyone?

Project: Paper Mache Tea Cups
Supplies: News paper (or other thin paper), thin cardboard (like a shoe box), glue, flour, water, paint brush, acrylic paint, and a fan is recommended.
Results: Personalized unusable but cute cardboard cups

Remember in art class they first introduced us to paper mache? I was in 7th grade and our teacher taught us how newspaper, flour and water wrapped around a balloon could be transformed into a Day of the Dead mask.  That was probably the last time I ever did paper mache. What tempted me to go back to this messy project?

 

Paper mache cups, how cute are these! I couldn’t resist, once again Pinterest challenged me to dare create something new. This time though, I googled for PROPER DIRECTIONS, and found a tutorial at Funkytime’s website.

 

 

Success and Failures:  On Funkytime’s website, she starts with the option of using her template for the basic cup pattern. I ignored this step due to wanting to try it myself, and the small fact that I have no ink in my printer. That’s explains why the yellow cup is slightly larger than the blue.

 

No matter how hard I tried, my circles were uneven. In Step 2 when I have to tape them together, it became tricky and took me a few tries. This is probably the most frustrating part of the whole project!

I Googled a mod podge recipe, but forgot to take into account that I didn’t need much for only two cups, I have almost a full jar just sitting on my desk at the moment. In her tutorial she used tissue paper over the mod podge, this is a good option if you want thinner, more delicate looking cups.

I made very long and fat strips for the paper mache which is a no-no. The strips would go too far and become wrinkled, making the cups very bumpy. Thin strips that stretch from the outside base to the inside bottom work best, and eventually make the cup look smoother.

The cups weren’t too hard to make, my only mistakes were making too much mod podge, not enough paper mache paste, and finding the perfect size for newspaper strips. Painting would have been enjoyable if I owned proper paint brushes. I managed only an OLD OLD OLD like before I was born small cooking brush. Yet the job got done.

In the End:

1. Research projects before you jump into them like I do!
2. Depending on cup size, try to make the right amount of mod podge/paste
3. Try the template for your first cups
4. Do this project near a sink!

I’m amazed how people think of cute projects like these, and I thank them for sharing so many fun projects. 🙂 Let me see your cups if you make one, we can have ourselves a tea party, heehee!

Leave a Reply

