My Jammin’ Jellyfish (and pattern!)

Jamin Jellyfish

Yay I finally felt confident to create an amigurumi from scratch. And the results were this little purple jellyfish. Thanks to my recent obsession with the manga Kuragehime (aka Princess Jellyfish) I decided to make my own jellyfish. This guy was pretty simple to make, and so here is my pattern if anyone else wants to make him:

I used an E hook (3.50 mm) and purple cotton yarn. I used a light lavender color, but I think jellyfish look cute in any hue! Also you’ll need two 6mm eyes, a yarn needle, black thread, and stuffing.

Body:
Start with a Magic Loop (aka Adjustable Ring)
Rnd 1: 6sc in loop
Rnd 2:  2sc in each sc round (12)
Rnd 3: 1sc, 2 sc in next sc (18)
Rnd 4: 2sc, 2 sc in next sc (24)
Rnd 5: 3sc, 2 sc in next sc (30)
Rnd 6: 4 sc, 2 sc in next (36)
Rnd 7-11: Sc 36
Rnd 12: Working with Front Loops only, 5dc in sc, skip 2 sc, sc, skip 2 sc. Then fasten off

Base:
Start with a Magic Loop
Rnd 1: 6 sc in loop
Rnd 2: 2sc in each sc round (12)
Rnd 3: 1 sc, 2 sc in next sc (18)
Rnd 4: 2sc, 2 sc in next sc (24)
Rnd 5: 3sc, 2 sc in next sc (30)
Rnd 6:4sc, 2 sc in next (36) then fasten off (I left a very long tail so it can be used to attach the base to the body).

Tentacles:
For the tentacles I made 6, but really you can do more or less. I started all the tentacles with chains. Two were Ch20, another two were Ch25, one was Ch30, another Ch23. So between Ch20-Ch30 is a good length for tentacles. After your chains, insert the hook in the second sc from the hook, and 2sc in each sc. When back at the top fasten off.

Assembly:
 After making all the pieces, placing the plastic eyes onto the jellyfish body. Afterward, use needle and thread to sew a smile. Now take the tentacles and sew them on the base of the jelly fish. Partially stuff the body of the jellyfish. Grab the tail of the base, thread it in your yarn needle and get ready to attach the base to the body. The easiest way to do this is to start sewing into the back loops from Rnd 8 of the jellyfish body. When about 3/4 of the base is attached, finish stuffing the jellyfish body. Now you’re done and I hope you’re happy with the results! But please, this is a pattern to be used for fun or gifts, NOT profit, thanks 😉

And here are some other amigurumi I’ve completed over the past few days, as well as links to where I found their free patterns.

 This is Pete the Turtle. I love turtles, and I had to make a turtle amigurumi for my pet turtle I had long ago. I always have a soft spot for them. His pattern is at Stephanie O.’s blog  Rockin4God found here.

Mr. Bigfooted Bear

The bear  is from Sharon O.’s Little Bigfoot amigurumi series. She has six different critters, starting with a cute pink piggy. Her patterns are at her blog the Homemade Obsession found here.

Last is this bunny with a remarkably big head, but face that makes you want to hug him. He is a Spring Bunny created from Stephane L.’s pattern that is here.

My brown & blue Bunny

Crocheting is sure addictive. I’ve already lined up more projects! In my future I will complete a cookie jar with 20 cookies, each with numbers and different colored sprinkles on them. That will be a present for my nephews 3rd birthday. I’m making a graduation bear keychain for my sister who just got her GED, using her school colors. A baby security blanket for a friend’s new baby girl, and my ultimate goal is to start making wearable crochet, I REALLY want a cute headband with flowers! Well I am off to enjoy the beautiful summer day, hope everyone has a good day!

12 thoughts on “My Jammin’ Jellyfish (and pattern!)

  1. You’ve only been crocheting for a month and you’ve written your own pattern?? That’s amazing!!
    Do you use Ravelry? Its a reeeally handy database (well, more of a community actually!) for crochet and knitting patterns, both free and bought, and its really easy to use! Here’s the link: http://www.ravelry.com/
    I like making headbands too! Here are a couple I really like 🙂
    This one I’ve made and it was really simple: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/easy-knotted-crochet-headband but doesn’t have any flowers on it, and this one I’ve got queued to make some time soon! Its so pretty, I love the flowers on it and how feminine it looks!
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/0-676-crochet-hair-band-with-crochet-flowers-in-cotton-viscose
    If you need any help with Ravelry (or crochet!) just give me a shout 🙂

    • Aww thank you 😀
      And yes I’ve heard of Ravelry, I even made an account, I’ve just been to lazy to upload this pattern or make it into a pretty PDF like a lot of the other free patterns, but the place is amazing for sure!
      I love crochet flowers, haven’t tried to make one yet for some odd reason…thanks for the links! I know you just started too, if you need help send me a comment, crocheters (sp?) need to stick together, hahaha 🙂

      • I have actually been crocheting for a few years now, but I think you are confused because of my most recent blog post, sorry about that! That was a post showing the first amigurumi I ever made back in 2010! Thanks for the offer of help, I do still get stuck with some things so I let you know if I need any help!
        Ahh good, glad you’ve found ravelry! I like crochet flowers too, and I love the variety of patterns available for them! 😀

  2. Pingback: Amigurumi Jellyfish | AFriendLikeBen

  3. Pingback: Jellyfish! – Katherine's crochet

Leave a Reply

